Oriental Bank of Commerce – Commitment Redefined

OBC

I hold a corporate account with Oriental Bank of Commerce, Chennai. Before opening the account, the officials came to our office to brief about the bank and the services they offer. Normally for any corporate account in any bank, maintaining the account at zero balance is quite common. But in Oriental Bank of Commerce, they have deducted nearly Rs. 140 for not maintaining the minimum balance of Rs. 1000. This deduction has been done over the past two months, which I was not aware of and was not told by the OBC officials when they came to our office. I came to know this only through my colleagues and while withdrawing cash today; I took a mini-statement and found that they have deducted the amount. Moreover, I could not make out anything from the transaction slip, (i.e. the abbreviations against each transaction) what these guys have actually done. Another issue is that this bank has only a very few ATMs and most of the times these does not work also. I had a very annoying experience when I visited the bank. I reached the bank to withdraw cash. I went in by 1.20 p.m. The bank personnel told that 1.00 to 1.30 p.m. is the lunchtime, and they asked me to wait and said that after the lunchtime they would call me. So I waited patiently. After 1.30 p.m., I was sitting there expecting that someone would call, but till 1.45 p.m. nobody called me and I was restless, and after 1.45 p.m. I gave the cheque to the concerned person. He collected the cheque and again he asked me to wait. It was 1.55 p.m. and I really got irritated. The person who received the cheque from me collected it and he was busy doing some other work making me to wait. And finally after 1.55 p.m., the cheque was verified and signed and I got the cash. What made me more furious was that I was the only customer during that time, i.e. between 1.20 p.m. to 1.55 p.m. What a great customer service that I was offered by OBC. The funniest part is that they have a tagline saying “Where every individual is committed.” I think they have misunderstood the word “committed.”

Some of the other customer experiences

http://www.mouthshut.com/product-reviews/Oriental_Bank_of_Commerce-925052940.html

http://dee-walker.blogspot.com/2007/12/obc-hell.html

http://mydayinparadise.blogspot.com/2007/11/sorry-state-of-affairs-oriental-bank-of.html