Indian Premier League – Facts

Today morning I received an interesting mail from one of my colleagues. The subject of the mail read “IPL – This name doesn’t suit well.” The content of the mail goes like this.

Man of the Series: Shane Watson

Maximum Runs (Orange Cap): Shaun Marsh

Maximum Wickets (Purple Cap): Sohail Tanvir

Trophy Winning Captain: Shane Warne

Highest Sixes: Sanath Jayasuriya

Name of the Tournament: INDIAN PREMIER LEAGUE

What are the Indians doing? – A very valid question isn’t it?

Maybe if there is a prize for the highest paid cricketers, our men will top the list.

Indiaaaaaaaaaaaaa…..Indiaaaaaaaaaaaaaa….. lets cheer guys!

Shane Warne – The True Leader

The first edition of the IPL (Indian Premier League) T20 cricket tournament ended in a grand style. The title clash between the Rajasthan Royals and the Chennai Super Kings was a nail-biting finish. The Rajasthan Royals held their nerve and clinched the most expensive and coveted DLF IPL trophy, which was a well-deserved one for the true champions who performed brilliantly in all aspects of the game.

This victory can be attributed (if not 100%, at least 50%) to one person in the squad, Shane Warne, the coach and captain of Rajasthan Royals. The team, which was considered as underdogs at the beginning of the tournament, emerged as champions in the end. There were no Tendulkars, Gangulys, Pontings, Gilchrists, Dravids or Akhtars in the team; majority of the team consisted of local boys who outperformed the best and the most regarded players in the world. It was a great transformation and a tremendous job done by Shane Warne as a coach and captain. He proved that he is a great leader. He mingled with the players, communicated well, motivated them, helped them develop new skills and transformed very ordinary players into world-class players. They played as a unit, had a concrete goal in their mind, set aside personal interests and differences and gave everything they had to offer. Hats off Shane!