Helmet – The First Line of Defence

Helmet

Today morning while I was on the way to my office, I witnessed a road accident. Unusually I was driving a bit slow today (probably I had enough time) on the busiest road and two speeding motorcyclists overtook me. I was shocked by the way they both drove, and all of a sudden, one of the speeding motorcyclists who passed by was knocked by the other motorcyclist from the left side, and he fell to the ground banging his head on the road. Luckily, a bus that was coming behind the two motorcyclists stopped in time. The man who was knocked down wore a helmet and when I looked him through the visor, he was an elderly person who would be above 50 years of age. Definitely the headgear that he was wearing had averted a serious head injury, which could have also been fatal. So wearing helmets definitely helps prevent major accidents. It is good that the government has brought back the rule of making helmets compulsory for two-wheeler riders.

Leave a Reply

